• Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees re-elects members, elects new members and recognizes retiring members

Mayo Clinic Arizona campus

PHOENIX — The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees re-elected two members, elected two internal members and recognized four emeritus trustees at its quarterly meeting on Friday, Feb. 15.

“It's an exciting time for Mayo Clinic, and our trustees play a crucial role in helping us shape Mayo Clinic's future,” says Gianrico Farrugia, M.D., Mayo Clinic's president and CEO. “As we plan now for the year 2030, health care disruption also will come faster. The expertise and perspectives of our trustees will help us build Mayo Clinic's future from a position of strength.”

The board re-elected two trustees:

  • Michael Powell, who joined the board in 2011, was re-elected as a public trustee to a four-year term. He is president and CEO of The Internet & Television Association. Powell was chairman of the Federal Communications Commission from 2001 to 2005 and a member of the Federal Communications Commission for eight years.
  • Paula Menkosky, chief administrative officer, Mayo Clinic in Arizona, who has been a board member since 2016. She was re-elected to a one-year term. Menkosky is responsible for Mayo Clinic operations in Arizona in partnership with Lois Krahn, M.D., Interim CEO of Mayo Clinic in Arizona.

The board elected two internal trustees to four-year terms:

The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees recognized and honored five emeritus trustees:

  • William George, a senior fellow at Harvard Business School and author of numerous leadership books, has served as a trustee since 2012. He is the former chairman and CEO of Medtronic.
  • Wyatt Decker, M.D., who retired as CEO of Mayo Clinic in Arizona in January, has been a trustee since 2011. Dr. Decker's Mayo career spanned 30 years, beginning in medical school.
  • John Noseworthy, M.D., who retired in December 2018 after serving as Mayo Clinic's president and CEO. He served as a trustee since 2009. Dr. Noseworthy served Mayo Clinic for 28 years, nine as president and CEO.
  • Veronique Roger, M.D. is the Elizabeth C. Lane and Nadine M. Zimmerman Professor of Internal Medicine. She has served Mayo Clinic for more than 26 years as a cardiologist, epidemiologist and outcomes researcher. She has served as trustee since 2011.
  • Mary Jo Williamson, who is vice chair, administration, Mayo Clinic, has served as a trustee since 2013. Williamson has served in various leadership positions during her 25-year Mayo Clinic career.

The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees, a 31-member group of public representatives and Mayo Clinic physicians and administrators, is responsible for patient care, medical education and research at Mayo Clinic's campuses in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota, as well as Mayo Clinic Health System, a network of clinics and hospitals serving more than 60 communities in Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin.


About Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, comprehensive care to everyone who needs healing. Learn more about Mayo ClinicVisit the Mayo Clinic News Network.

Media contact:

Related articles