• Minnesota

    Mayo Neurologist Terrence Cascino Elected Pres. of American Academy of Neurology

Dr. Terrence Cascino
Dr. Terrence Cascino

Rochester, Minn. – Terrence L. Cascino, M.D., of Mayo Clinic in Rochester was elected the president of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN), the world’s largest professional association of neurologists and neuroscientists with 28,000 members.

Dr. Cascino, AAN’s 34th president, succeeds Timothy A. Pedley, MD, professor of neurology at the Columbia University Medical Center.

“This is an opportunity of a lifetime to serve our 28,000 members of AAN with unparalleled resources to help them provide the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care for the one in six people worldwide who have a brain disease, such as Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, epilepsy, autism, and Parkinson’s disease” said Dr. Cascino. “I am privileged to follow a long line of distinguished neurologists committed to expanding the reach of the AAN, demonstrating the value of neurologists, enhancing their career satisfaction and most importantly, being indispensable to our members.”

More information about the leadership announcement can be found in the AAN news release here.