• Mayo Clinic Arizona campus

    Mayo Clinic Trustees Welcome New Board Chair and Members, Recognize Retiring Members

Mayo Clinic Arizona Hospital

PHOENIX — Feb. 21, 2014 — The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees welcomed Samuel A. Di Piazza, Jr. as the new board chair and George Halvorson as a new member, recognized five retiring public members and three internal members who completed their tenure, and elected four new internal trustees.

Di Piazza replaces Marilyn Carlson Nelson, who is retiring from the board. Di Piazza recently announced that he was leaving Citi as vice chairman and a member of the Senior Client Executive Group to serve as Mayo Clinic’s Board of Trustees chair. Di Piazza joined the Mayo board in 2010. He joined Citi in May 2011 after a long career at PricewaterhouseCoopers as a partner and, ultimately, CEO from 2002 through 2009.

Carlson Nelson, former chairman and former chief executive officer of Carlson, a global travel and hospitality company, has served as a Mayo Clinic trustee for 13 years.

“She has helped the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees navigate the changing health care landscape and is instrumental in guiding our thinking around our plans for Destination Medical Center in Rochester,” says John Noseworthy, M.D., president and CEO, Mayo Clinic.

Halvorson is retired chair of Kaiser Permanente in Oakland, Calif. Prior to joining Kaiser Permanente, Halvorson was president and chief executive officer of HealthPartners, headquartered in Minneapolis, for nearly 18 years. He has more than 30 years of health care management experience and has held several senior management positions with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota and Health Accord International.

The trustees recognized four other public members who are retiring:

  • James Barksdale, who has served as a trustee since 2001 and was chair from 2006 to 2010. Barksdale heads Barksdale Management Corporation.
  • Patricia Mitchell, a trustee since 2002. Mitchell is president and CEO of The Paley Center for Media, New York.
  • Lee Raymond, a trustee since 2006. Raymond was chairman and CEO of Exxon Mobil Corp. from 1999 until his retirement in 2005.
  • Anne Tatlock, a trustee since 2002. Tatlock served as chairman and chief executive officer of Fiduciary Trust Company International from 2000 to January 2007.

The five retiring public trustees were also elected as emeritus trustees.

The trustees recognized three internal members who continue their leadership roles at Mayo Clinic but have completed their tenure on the board of trustees: Richard Ehman, M.D., Mayo Clinic radiologist; Kerry Olsen, M.D., a Mayo Clinic otorhinolaryngologist, and Robert Nesse, M.D., CEO, Mayo Clinic Health System. These retiring internal trustees were also elected as emeritus trustees.

The board elected four new internal trustees:

The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees, a 31-member group of public representatives and Mayo Clinic physicians and administrators, is responsible for patient care, medical education and research at Mayo Clinic’s sites in Jacksonville, Fla.; Rochester, Minn.; and Phoenix and Scottsdale, Ariz.


About Mayo Clinic
Recognizing 150 years of serving humanity in 2014, Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit worldwide leader in medical care, research and education for people from all walks of life. For more information, visit 150years.mayoclinic.org, www.mayoclinic.org and newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org.

Karl Oestreich, Mayo Clinic Public Affairs, 507-284-5005, newsbureau@mayo.edu

Related Articles